Board of Water Commissioners Minutes 05/07/2012

Harwich Water Department BOARD OF WATER COMMISSIONERS Meeting on May 7, 2012

Present: Chairman Donald Bates, Vice Chairman Allin Thompson, Clerk Danette Gonsalves, Secretary Alexandra Bilek, Senior Billing Administrator Wellesley Marsh, Selectmen Angelo LaMantia, Robbin Kelley

Chairman Donald Bates called the meeting to order at 8:20 a.m.

The minutes for the previous meeting held on April 10, 2012, were approved with a motion by Vice Chairman Thompson and seconded by Clerk Gonsalves; 3-0-0.

Ms. Robbin Kelley was in attendance petitioning the Board for an abatement of the late fee for her fall water bill. She said she was not aware that it had to be paid within in a certain time frame. Ms. Kelley said it was not noted on the abatement denial letter she received last fall. Vice Chairman Thompson moved to abate the \$50.00 late fee with a second by Clerk Gonsalves; 3-0-0.

Senior Billing Administrator Wellesley Marsh provided the Board with a billing update.

Superintendent Wiegand recommended the Board indefinitely postpone Warrant Articles 6, 7, 8 and 9 because of all the confusion. Mr. Wiegand said the Finance Committee does not grasp the benefits to be gained from the solar panels. He said he thinks we should regroup and apply for the SRF funding again next year or go for a conventional loan. Mr. Wiegand said the Department needs to educate the community about this project by holding several informational meetings. He said we need to explain to people that water and solar can coexist. Vice Chairman Thompson moved to support the indefinite postponement of Articles 6, 7, 8 and 9 from the Special Town Meeting with a second from Clerk Gonsalves; 3-0-0.

The Board reviewed the two remaining Warrant Articles.

The Board will meet again on Tuesday, May 22, 2012.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:05 a.m. with a motion by Clerk Gonsalves and seconded by Chairman Bates; 3-0-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Donald T. Bates, Chairman

Craig Wiegand, Superintendent

Allin P. Thompson, Vice Chairman

Alexandra Bilek, Secretary

Danette Gonsalves, Clerk