HARWICH CULTURAL COUNCIL

Meeting Minutes - November 9, 2017

The meeting was called to order at 3:35 p.m. by Chairperson Tina Games

<u>Members present:</u> Tina Games, Joan Sacchetti, Rose Ann Clarke, Shay Mitchell, Debbie Ferry, Rosann Donahue, Larraine Bossi, Rosanne Shapiro

Special guests: Jannell Brown, *Harwich Board of Selectmen*; Annie Houston and Lisa Simmons – *Mass Cultural Council*

Welcome: A brief introduction was made to welcome our guests, who described the Cultural Compact pilot program and what it would entail. Harwich is one of six communities in the Commonwealth chosen for this unique opportunity. Working with the theme, *Power of Culture* – the Cultural Compact is being shaped around the idea of town government working with the cultural sector to instill the power of culture in their communities by building relationships, supporting economic growth, cultivating a strong cultural environment, and promoting the power of culture. There was a question/answer period that also included a discussion about what was required to receive a state designation as a Cultural District. The group agreed to meet on December 14th for a tour of the Harwich Cultural Center with a follow-up meeting that included other representatives from the town.

<u>Secretary's Report</u>: The minutes from the October 12, 2017 meeting were reviewed and approved with Rose Ann Clarke moving to accept and Joan Sacchetti seconding the motion.

<u>Financial Report:</u> The current financial report was presented by Treasurer Joan Sacchetti - and was reviewed and approved. Debbie Ferry motioned to accept and Rosann Donahue seconded.

<u>Old Business:</u> Chairperson Tina Games reported on her annual meeting with the Board of Selectman and shared the full page article in the Cape Cod Chronicle about the Cultural Compact pilot program.

New Business: Council members reviewed and discussed all 30 grant applications, deciding to fund 24 projects/programs either partially or in full. It was suggested that the six applicants who would not receive funding be notified by the end of the month. The Council agreed and voted in favor of the motion made by Larraine Bossi and seconded by Rose Ann Clarke. Chairperson Tina Games agreed to send the disapproval notifications - and reviewed the timeline for both grant application denials and approvals with input from Rose Ann Clarke.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

* Minutes submitted by: Tina Games, Chair (on behalf of Secretary Larraine Bossi)