Treasure Chest Volunteer Committee

Treasure Chest
205 Queen Anne Rd., Harwich, MA 02645

Effective July 1st 2018 the Treasure Chest will be open to Harwich residents only. Harwich residents may pick up a Treasure Chest sticker, at no cost, at the town hall M 8:30-8:00; T-Th 8:30-4:00; and F 8:30-12:00. The Harwich Chamber of Commerce also provides them M-F 9:00-5:00, Sat. 9:00-4:00, and Sun. 10:00-2:00.

.This new policy was adopted by the Board of Selectmen at their June 5th meeting. It was made necessary by the significant increase in customers and the corresponding increase in items brought to the Treasure Chest, some of which ends up in our waste stream adding cost to the town.

The purpose of the Treasure Chest remains the same:  to provide a place where useable items can be diverted from the waste stream and be made available to others in our town.  Items can be picked up by Harwich residents for their use or for use by charitable organizations of their choice. No charge is made to drop off acceptable items, nor is any charge made when individuals pick up items.

The Treasure Chest is staffed by volunteers and is open to Harwich residents on each Saturday and Sunday from 9am to 3pm throughout the year, except on Christmas day, New Year’s Day, or Easter should those dates fall on a Saturday or Sunday, or due to inclement weather.

The Treasure Chest accepts most items: clothes for all ages, shoes, toys and games, most small furniture, lamps, housewares (dishes, glasses, pots, pans etc.), small kitchen appliances, books, tools, rugs, radios, clocks, etc.

We do not accept items that are broken or stained, TV and TV cabinets, stereo speakers, computers, printers, scanners, particle board furniture, disassembled furniture, encyclopedia sets, Christmas trees, gas grills and propane tanks, rims and tires, cribs, mattresses, large appliances(stoves, refrigerators, washers, dryers), snowthrowers, riding lawn mowers, toilets, sleep sofas, car batteries, air conditioners, children car seats, playpens, large or heavy furniture, treadmills, weapons, or any hazardous materials. Many of these items can be brought to the transfer station.


Board Members

Name Title
Mark Koopman Member (June 2021)
Sheila Eldredge Member (June 2020)
Eric Fahle Member (2021)
Elizabeth Watkins Member (2022)
Tom Caruso Member (2020)
Heather Bolinder Member (2020)
Janet Evans Member (2021)
Mella Navickas Alternate Member (June 2022)
Edward J. McManus Selectmen's Liaison